football Edit

Irving, Bryan first-team All-ACC

After missing all of the 2009 season with serious injuries suffered in a car crash, fifth-year senior linebacker Nate Irving completed his comeback by being named first-team All-ACC Monday afternoon.
Irving joined redshirt junior tight end George Bryan as the lone Wolfpack players to represented first team. Bryan was also a first-team selection last year.
Irving finished the year with 88 tackles, including 20.5 for loss and six sacks. He also broke up five passes, pressured the quarterback eight times, forced a fumble and recovered one.
Bryan caught 32 passes for 344 yards and three touchdowns this season.
NC State narrowly missed having three first-team All-ACC selections. Redshirt junior quarterback Russell Wilson was edged out by two points by Virginia Tech senior Tyrod Taylor. Wilson settled for second-team honors after completing 280 of 482 passes for 3,288 yards and 26 touchdowns with 14 interceptions and rushing 129 times for 394 yards and nine more scores.
Joining Wilson on the second-team was senior receiver Owen Spencer, who led the Pack with 57 catches for 868 yards and tied for team-high with four touchdown receptions.
Senior left tackle Jake Vermiglio and redshirt junior defensive tackle J.R. Sweezy were named honorable mention. Sweezy had 50 tackles, including 11.5 for loss and 5.5 sacks, this year. He added three pass breakups, three quarterback hurries, a pair of fumble recoveries and a forced fumble.
QB Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech (77)
RB Montel Harris, Boston College (122)
RB Anthony Allen, Georgia Tech (108)
WR Leonard Hankerson, Miami (118)
WR Torrey Smith, Maryland (96)
TE George Bryan, N.C. State (92)
OT Anthony Castonzo, Boston College (79)
OT Chris Hairston, Clemson (69)
OG Rodney Hudson, Florida State (116)
OG Brandon Washington, Miami (50)
C Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech (91)
K Chris Hazley, Virginia Tech (100)
Spc. Tony Logan, Maryland (69)
DE Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson (120)
DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State (101)
DT Quinton Coples, North Carolina (101)
DT Jarvis Jenkins, Clemson (63)
LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College (112)
LB Nate Irving, N.C. State (105)
LB Alex Wujciak, Maryland (78)
CB Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech (112)
CB Chase Minnifield, Virginia (57)
S DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson (99)
S Kenny Tate, Maryland (78)
P Matt Bosher, Miami
QB Russell Wilson, N.C. State (75)
RB Damien Berry, Miami (37)
RB Keith Payne, Virginia (30)
WR Conner Vernon, Duke (70)
WR Owen Spencer, N.C. State (41)
TE Dwayne Allen, Clemson (31)
OT Orlando Franklin, Miami (65)
OT Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech (39)
OG Jaymes Brooks, Virginia Tech (41)
OG Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech (35)
OG Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina (35)
C Ryan McMahon, Florida State (47)
K Will Snyderwine, Duke (38)
Spc. David Wilson, Virginia Tech (61)
DE Allen Bailey, Miami (51)
DE Steven Friday, Virginia Tech (42)
DT John Graves, Virginia Tech (46)
DT Joe Vellano, Maryland (33)
LB Bruce Carter, North Carolina (43)
LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech (41)
LB Sean Spence, Miami (37)
CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State (49)
CB Brandon Harris, Miami (45)
S Davon Morgan, Virginia Tech (48)
S Ray-Ray Armstrong, Miami (25)
P Brian Saunders, Virginia Tech (48)
WR Dwight Jones, North Carolina (20)
OT Jake Vermiglio, NC State (34); Paul Pinegar, Maryland (27).
OG Thomas Claiborne, Boston College (34)
C Beau Warren, Virginia Tech (22)
TE Cooper Helfet, Duke (24); Andre Smith, Virginia Tech (23)
RB Johnny White, North Carolina (22)
QB T.J. Yates, North Carolina (21)
PK Casey Barth, North Carolina (20)
SP Marcus Gilchrist, Clemson (24)
DT J.R. Sweezy, NC State (26)
LB Colin McCarthy, Miami (34); Abraham Kromah, Duke (30)
CB Greg Reid, Florida State (20)